Since 1997, the Wonthaggi Human Powered Grand Prix has challenged teams with its iconic 1.4km circuit, unpredictable weather conditions and a test of team work.

Teams of primary school students compete for 16 hours, whilst secondary school and Community teams compete for 24 hours in human powered vehicles that students, teachers, parents and local industry have worked together to design and construct.

The event is about putting STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) into a fun, hands-on learning environment that rewards collaboration, grit and determination.

The event can act as a great ‘momentum builder’ for school teams eager to engage and inspire new students joining their Human Powered Vehicle (HPV) programs. It also offers the opportunity to test and learn from the previous year’s Energy Breakthrough trials and tribulations, too.

Each team receives points for Scrutineering and Design and Construction, which is combined with the number of laps they complete during the Grand Prix to reward an overall class winner. All vehicles are assessed for safety by a team of experienced scrutineers prior to taking to the track.


The show will go on!

The show will go on! We are delighted to confirm Wonthaggi Human Powered Grand Prix will be running in 2020. We have received some additional entries so the start line will be nice and busy. PAST LEGENDS LEND THEIR SUPPORT But the biggest thanks goes to an enormous and generous effort of fundraising by some past HPV legends. This campaign - led by Ben Goodall of Trisled - was able to secure the financial viability of this edition of the event. These donors have either made personal donations or business donations in response to the significant role this Wonthaggi event has played in their own personal development. WOW! Their generous contributions will be recognised in our Event Manual and on our website in due course, but a HUGE THANK YOU to this collective effort. TEAM MANAGER ACTIONS Now, Team Managers are invited to: Update your team names (log-in to the portal) Starting [...]

By |February 21st, 2020|Categories: Uncategorised|0 Comments


Bass Coast Shire Council logo
Inverloch and District Community Bank Logo
Trisled logo



Special thanks to the following donors who have contributed financially to ensure this event continues (in alphabetical order):
Daniel Andjelic, Rhys Bartlett, Tim Corbett, Steven Dent, Wade Edwards, Mark Henriksen,
Matt McCurdy, Braden McKay, John Pearman, Matt Sullivan, Jonathan Weston and Wattle Racing.